XR1200 Owners Group banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey y'all,

I've been riding on and off for 14 years and I am thinking of getting back in the saddle long term this time with a used 2009 xr1200 with approx. 9k miles. There's a nice looking one for about 9k USD, what are somethings I should be looking for?

I've added a few pics from the seller, what do you guys think?

(I am in Korea btw and it's either this or a husky svartpilen 701)

Kind regards,

·
Let's Ride
283 Posts
It's a good looking bike. That is your basic XR model (non X version). It has a nice Super trapp pipe on it. Bars, Tach, Clutch cable are not factory (not that there is anything wrong with them) just wanted to let you know this. Personally the price seams a little high to me. Another XR with low mileage (my 09 had 2500 miles on it when I bought it 1-1/2 years ago). If it was an XR1200X, then maybe so on the price. They are great bikes, good luck with the purchase or trying to find another one. And Welcome to the forum from Alabama.

·
Let's Ride
283 Posts
One more thing,You can pop off the left side cover and see if it has a tuner on it. "Sometimes" that is where they are located, but not always (I put mine under the seat pan). It would be good to know if it has one or not. These bikes run a little lean from the factory which makes them run a little on the "Hot" side. To me, it's not a big deal if it has a tuner or not, these bikes run great.

·
Registered
1,134 Posts
That XR looks to be in very nice shape. Like Chipmaker said the tuner is something you want with those pipes and with it you will get the gain in HP that they offer. The fuel tank does not look to be swollen (some thing you can research on the forum). Think about replacing the original rubber brake lines with stainless ones. Also improving the suspension will give you the most bang for the buck on the XR.

·
Premium Member
2009 XR1200
60 Posts