XR1200 Owners Group banner
1 - 20 of 56 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Call me excessive compulsive - I usually get my oil analyzed. The reports are pretty self explanatory. These are results from Blackstone Laboratories for the HD 20W50 (not synthetic) oil in my XR1200 at 1,000 miles:

It gives a nice look at what is going on in the engine, and their comments are usually helpful re what is happening with regard to wear patterns, without opening up the engine all the time.

Attachments

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Interesting. One of the first things that stuck out to me was the flashpoint of your 1000mi break in oil was over 400 degrees.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thats interesting plus, Ive been riding motorcycles since 1976 (I know Im getting tired now :rolleyes:) when I turned sixteen which is the legal age to get a bike licence over here and Ive never thought of getting my oil tested nor have I heard any of my mates doing that either, I think its a great idea.:tank:

·
Warning! Fat people are harder to kidnap.
1,373 Posts
That flashpoint is normal for nonsynthetic oil. Mobile one flashpoint is 518 degrees. I don't think the flashpoint is that big of deal because it requires air to burn and there is no air in the oil lines hopefully. I just feel that synthetics give more protection at higher temps. I don't go over 2500 miles even on synthetic oil. Clean oil make for a happy motor. :D Later,

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
400 is purported to be the minimum value to avoid high consumption due to vaporization.

Amsoil (synthetic) claims 464

Mobil V-Twin (sysnthetic) is supposedly 518

G

·
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I don't understand why they put in non synthetic oil in this XR engine...the engine is certainly pushed close to it's limits...

there is really no need for synthetic oil in standard low turning HD-engine...as even the modern non synthetic oils aren't that bad!

·
Premium Member
18,659 Posts