XR1200 Owners Group banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

Old fart (one of my wife's pet names for me) from NJ.

I have been riding the same 1970 Bonneville since 1982.
750 kit, MegaCycle cams, Amal Mk 1.5, balanced, Boyer, Hagon, K&N superbike bars.

Wife said I should have a newer bike, so I put down a deposit on a black XR that is to arrive at the dealer April 4.
Except for the Buell XB12 Lightning Long, no other bike out there does it for me.

My job is hanging by a thread right now so I am not sure if I will be able finalize the deal (2 college educations yet to pay for too) but I really like the XR and hope to be an owner. OK, as my daughter would say, TMI.

All of us owe magoo big time for a great site and I hope the T shirts sell out soon.

·
It aint no good locking the doors, when the madnes
7,311 Posts
Hey man, go for the XR, plenty of time for regrets when yer dead.
I've had a couple of Bonny's and you will love the XR i sorta compare it to my Bonny's and Commando.
Go with what your wife says and get that new bike, sounds like a good woman to me ;)

Welcome aboard Old Fart :D

·
Son of a Son of a Sailor
195 Posts
Many valuable lessons can be learned

What a great opportunity you have before you now. A chance to show two children the value of a hard earned dollar. By allowing them to pay for their own college they will be on the road to independance 4 years sooner than they ever imagined. You will be able to buy the XR making the wife happy. You will be riding an XR, and without a job to interfere, you will have more free time. It's all good, just depends on how you look at it.

·
Instant Karma
32 Posts
Hi all,

Old fart (one of my wife's pet names for me) from NJ.

I have been riding the same 1970 Bonneville since 1982.
750 kit, MegaCycle cams, Amal Mk 1.5, balanced, Boyer, Hagon, K&N superbike bars.

Wife said I should have a newer bike, so I put down a deposit on a black XR that is to arrive at the dealer April 4.