XR1200 Owners Group banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As I previously posted, I've been riding for close to 40 years but saw something the other day that I had not before.

On a six lane urban roadway in my town, a guy was riding his bike normally - except at every stoplight he would stop angled 45 degrees to the left. He did it three times in a row so it must have been intentional.

I can see how this may be a good defensive riding tactic - if you see an impending rear-end collision coming you can "lane split" out of danger - but with this your bike mirrors are pointed in the wrong direction to use them. Unless you crane your head to the left, in which case you're not paying attention to anything in front, like the traffic signal.

Any comments?

·
Premium Member
713 Posts
Never heard of, or have seen this before. Lane splitting is legal in California, so I do this to avoid the possibility of being sandwiched between cars if someone behind me is rear ended. Interesting to hear why this 45* tactic is used.

Reactions: murphydog

·
the older I get.the faster I was
1,418 Posts
I have heard of this used in a turning lane. ie. angle to the right in a right hand turning lane and to the left in a left turning lane. This gives you control of the lane ( so some A--hole can't sneak inside of you) and makes you more visible.
But never heard of this used at a stop.:oops:

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yes, I grew up in So Cal and rode there for 23 years but never saw this there in all that time.

·
Registered
824 Posts
The Rider maybe a off duty police motor officer practicing his riding technique for blocking traffic in an intersection.
That is the only time i seen anybody stopping like that.
Otherwise the person is showing off that he riding a motorcycle?

·
Sonya's a pretty kitty!
2,058 Posts