XR1200 Owners Group banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. New to the site and I'm seriously considering a XR. Ive been riding my Dyna Wide Glide for the past 15 years and am looking for a 2nd bike, a back road burner so to speak!!. Before my wide glide I rode a Moto Guzzi SP1000, a 78 0r 79 Triumph Bonneville, Suzuki GT750, I had a 71Triumph tiger in my teens, and rode the heck out of a 1975 Yamaha XS 650 in my college days. I haven't been able to ride an XR but it seems like it would be the perfect bike. I'll keep my 1995 wide glide as I bought it new and regretted selling all the other bikes I've owned.

Question...I thought that only 750 2009 XR,s for the US are being sold? My dealer told me that the 750 were just the 2009 pre-sales and all the rest of the 2009's are a 2nd run. Is this true. My dealer has an Orange one coming in first week in June. I kinda like the black ones but from what I've read the Orange ones are a bit faster!!!! My wife says go and get one and she likes orange so orange it is.

Great owners Group!!! I've been enjoying reading all your posts.

Jack

·
It aint no good locking the doors, when the madnes
7,305 Posts
Hey Jack, welcome aboard mate.

Only advise i could give you is, go get it...Sorry i meant to say, try and have a test ride if you can, no sorry, i got it right first time.....Go get it :D

·
My giant goes with me wherever I go.
14,911 Posts
Jacko!

Welcome Jacko! Reading the description of your biking history I can tell you that you are gonna dig this bike......and definately go with the Orange, not only is it faster, but, with your own wife as evidence, chicks dig it more!:eek:

·
Son of a Son of a Sailor
195 Posts
Welcome Jacko