XR1200 Owners Group banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought my XR on June 6th and rode home in the rain smiling all the way. I immediately started looking for web sites specializing in the XR and found this one. I am glad I did as there are alot of knowlegeable people here and I love being able to share info as it makes buying decisions alot easier when you can share the experience of others. I bought the sinister hard core black one. I figured why pay extra for color when I will just end up painting it anyway. I used to be a auto bodyman and painter and still paint my own stuff. I have my new XR, an '05 DL1000 VStrom and a pair of old XS650 Yamahas. One's a project and one's done. I added the short, clear to black gradient windshield and the bungee bars. I'm not real happy with the bungee bars and will be modifying them. I love the windshield, however. I am looking at new rear shocks as the stockers just don't cut it. The bike is a blast however and I just love riding it. Harley hit one out of the park with the XR as it's pretty good stock, but as with every bike I ever had, it will be improved little by little and that's why I am very glad I found this site. I have read alot of stuff on here already and Bravo to you all for such good info, Tim.

G

·
Welcome

Welcome OldGuy, from another old guy. Great place to hang out. I know it is blaphemy but I also have been thinking of painting my XR. I had a RoadGlide in HD Pearl Yellow. Maybe that might make my XR the fastest of them all. lol

paul

·
Scooter Trash
194 Posts
Welcome aboard Tim. I once owned a 1982 Yamaha XS650SJ Hertitage Special, in any color you wanted as long as it was black. One of my all time favorites bikes and I still have the heel marks on my backside from selling it.:rolleyes: